Florida is one of only 10 states that require PIP insurance. PIP encourages people to seek treatment quickly, as coverage is typically only provided when you seek treatment within 14 days of your accident.
PIP insurance coverage can help to pay for various types of damages, up to a maximum of $10,000. Common examples of covered damages include lost wages and medical bills. Generally, 80% of your medical bills up to $10,000 would be eligible for this type of coverage. However, there are some exceptions to this maximum coverage limit.
One of the major exceptions has to do with the types of conditions that PIP insurance covers. In Florida, an emergency medical condition (EMC) is defined as an injury with acute, severe symptoms that would result in serious consequences if left untreated. Examples of emergency medical conditions include:
- Dangers to your health
- Impairments of your physical functions
- Dysfunctions of any part of your body.
These types of conditions are typically eligible for the full $10,000 of coverage.
It’s important to note that you only have 14 days after a Florida auto accident to seek medical treatment in order to be eligible for PIP coverage. This time limit is related to the definition of an emergency medical condition. However, there are provisions in the PIP laws that may allow you to receive coverage even if you are past the two-week mark.
To learn more about your treatment options, or speak to a qualified legal attorney to find out more about whether you qualify for PIP, please reach out to us anytime at 800-PATH-247. We are available 24/7 to help you with your auto accident needs.